skip to content »

Sligo dating site

sligo dating site-41

Derry won the 2008 National League; their sixth in all.In recent years they have been overshadowed in the Ulster Senior Championship by the emergence of Tyrone and Donegal, but having topped Division 2 of the NFL in 2013, Derry returns to the Division 1 for the 2014 season.

sligo dating site-46

However, the administration of Gaelic sports in the county took some time to get properly organised.South Derry and North Derry regional boards were established in the 1890s.In the early decades (up to the 1930s), the Derry GAA competitions took in a number of clubs from County Donegal and Tyrone.For more details on this topic including team line-ups, see here Two Derry players have been awarded the Texaco Footballer of the Year award.Ballymaguigan's Jim Mc Keever won the inaugural award in 1958, while Henry Downey of the Lavey club received player of the year for his performances in helping Derry win the 1993 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.Hurling games are also held at Lavey or Fr Mc Nally Park, Banagher.

The current senior football manager is Brian Mc Iver of Balinderry, while Ger Rogan has been appointed Derry senior hurling manager for the incoming season.

The GAA in the county is administered by a County Committee (or County Board) with a representative from each GAA club in the County, a Management Committee and a variable number of sub-committees. The group leaders were invited to play in the League semi-finals because heavy snow had disrupted the competition.

Francie Niblock scored one of the finest goals in League history in Croke Park as Derry beat Clare.

1973: Anthony Mc Gurk 1975: Peter Stevenson, Anthony Mc Gurk, Gerry Mc Elhinney 1984: Dermot Mc Nicholl 1987: Tony Scullion, Brian Mc Gilligan 1992: Tony Scullion, Anthony Tohill, Enda Gormley 1993: Tony Scullion, Johnny Mc Gurk, Henry Downey, Gary Coleman, Anthony Tohill, Brian Mc Gilligan, Enda Gormley 1995: Tony Scullion, Anthony Tohill 1996: Joe Brolly 1997: Joe Brolly 1998: Seán Marty Lockhart 2000: Kieran Mc Keever, Anthony Tohill 2004: Enda Muldoon 2007: Kevin Mc Cloy, Paddy Bradley Since 2006 the Gaelic Players Association have chosen their own team of the year.

2007: Paddy Bradley A number of Derry players have been selected to play International rules football for the Ireland team against Australia; both in the test games (1984, 1986, 19) and since the commencement of the International Rules Series in 1998. Derry was a hotbed of early hurling activity, with the city's St Patrick's club winning the Ulster Senior Hurling Championship in 1902-03; county teams mainly drawn from the city won the 1906 championship by a walkover, and the contested 1909 final.

In 1965 the Derry Minor team won the All-Ireland Minor Championship, and three years later at Under 21 the bulk of that team captured the All-Ireland Under 21 Championship.